Cities of Literature

UNESCO Cities of Literature

The UNESCO Cities of Literature work together to form strong global partnerships and literary links between the cities and countries.  Each City is also dedicated to pursuing excellence in literature on a local level, engaging citizens in a dynamic culture of words. The Cities of Literature are part of the larger UNESCO Creative Cities Network.

Reykjavík was the fifth UNESCO City of Literature, receiving its designation in August 2011. Reykjavik was the first non English speaking city to belong to the Cities of Literature Network.

You can read about Reykjavík’s fellow Cities of Literature on their websites (click on the pictures or links below):

Edinburgh City of Literature Dublin City of Literature Iowa City of Literature  Krakow Dunedin granada heidelberg Prague_1

In Desember 2015 –  9 new Cities of Literature joined our Creative Cities Network.

Baghdad Barcelona ljubljana Lviv montevideo Nottingham obidos Tartu Ulyanovsk