Reykjavík was designated as a UNESCO City of Literature in August 2011, the fifth city in the world and the first non-native English speaking one to receive the honorary title.

Reykjavík joins four other Cities of Literature: Edinburgh in Scotland, Melbourne in Australia, Iowa City in the USA and Dublin in Ireland.

UNESCO Cities of Literature are part of the larger UNESCO Creative Cities Network, of which Reykjavík is the 29th member.

Cities of Literature

Creative Cities Network